Meet the Artist: Ruth Nutting (aka Rare Folk)

Ruth Nutting
Ruth Nutting – founder of Rarefolk, wearing her bluetit brooch

How did you get into art/How did you get started?

My creative career started in hairdressing which I love but got to a point where I wanted to push the boundaries in another direction which is when I found myself studying Decorative Arts at Nottingham Trent university. This was the best course for me as I got to experiment with lots of different mediums. This is where I fell in love with the laser cutter as I enjoyed the technical side and felt the outcomes where endless.

 

The theme for this show Inside/Outside – what inspired you to choose this theme, and would you like to say more about your work for this show.

Since leaving University I have set up my brand (Rare Folk) making rare jewellery for folk that like something a bit different. Many of my pieces are influenced by nature and geometry, which is why I felt it fell into the word ‘Outside’. Then the most current area I’m exploring with my work is combining jewellery with pieces that decorate your home. For example – this started with me framing my Bluetit brooch so you can either detach it and wear it or hang it on the wall on a day it doesn’t match your outfit. This has now taken me to wall hangings such as those seen in the exhibition with detachable jewellery including brooches, earrings, rings and bracelets.

Rare Folk 1
The Bluetit brooch transformed into a piece of art

Where do you make your work?

I make my work within my studio at Makers Yard. It is a wonderful space, and is housed in a beautiful, listed building that is the oldest hosiery factory in the East Midlands.

Rare Folk 2
A pair of Ruth’s lazer cut earrings with sewn details

What inspires you to create your work and how do you keep motivated when things get tough in the studio?

I love being surrounded by the other lovely, inspiring, talented designers and makers within Makers Yard. They help me through the hard times, we support each other when we can and there’s usually someone making a brew when you need one. Along with my amazing family and friends telling me I can do it when I’m having a bad day.

To see more of my work, please visit my website: http://www.rarefolk.co.uk/

You can also find me on Facebook – RAREFOLK 

Leave a Reply

